Montana history teacher of the year

MCHCE is pleased to partner with the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History to administer the Montana History Teacher of the Year Award. This award is only awarded to one teacher in the state of Montana each year.  State winners receive a $1,000 prize and archive of classroom resources for their school's library.

MT History TOY

2016 State Winner

Sean O'Donnell, Flathead High School, Kalispell

2015 State Winner

Ruth Ferris, Washington Elementary School, Billings

2012 State Winner

Bruce Wendt, Billings West High School, Billings

2011 State Winner

Evelyn Ybarra, Irving Elementary School, Bozeman

2010 State Winner

Derek Strahn, Bozeman High School, Bozeman

Derek teaches AP US History and AP American Studies at Bozeman High School.  He was chosen as Montana's 2010 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.

2009 State Winner

Robin Lovec, East Side School, Livingston

2007 State Winner

Peter T. Strand, Irving International School, Bozeman

2006 State Winner

Merle Johnston, Frenchtown High School, Frenchtown

2005 State Winner

Richard Galli, Bridger Alternative School, Bozeman

2004 State Winner

Norman Anderson, Great Falls High School, Great Falls
Norman retired in 2013 after forty years in the classroom.  In the course of his career, he taught nearly all the English and social studies classes from grades 7 through 12.  Most recently, he taught AP American History, AP American Government, and AP European History.  He was the Gilder Lehrman Montana History Teacher of the Year in 2004.  Today, he is actively involved in the living history of Lewis and Clark and pursuing his passion for photography.

Please reload